Fall Commencement

On December 19, 2009, SHSU honored its most recent graduates during the annual Fall Commencement. The College of Criminal Justice graduated a total of 205 students, including 193 undergraduates, six masters of science, four masters of arts, and two doctorates.

The commencement speaker was Ron Blatchley, Regent of The Texas State University System. Mr. Blatchley, who is currently the Chairman of the TSUS Board of Regents, was appointed to the Board in September 2007 by Governor Rick Perry. He is currently a partner in BMB Homes in Bryan/College Station and has retired from two rewarding careers--one in higher education and the other in business. He earned a bachelor's and master's degree from Sam Houston State University.

Several College of Criminal Justice undergraduate students graduated with honors, as listed below.

  • Diego J. Blas, Cum Laude
  • Justin Rene De Los Santos, Cum Laude
  • James Morgan Dorchak, Cum Laude
  • Kathryn Renee Frytz, Summa Cum Laude
  • Nicholas Lee Harp, Cum Laude
  • Michael Marlin Knighton, Magna Cum Laude
  • Sara Evangelina Medina, Cum Laude
  • Larynn Renee Mitchell, Magna Cum Laude
  • Chloe' Marie Parr, Cum Laude
  • Patrick McClain Regan, Cum Laude
  • Jocelyn Rae Rex, Summa Cum Laude
  • Eva Christine Shoemaker, Cum Laude
  • Haley Alisa Thedford, Magna Cum Laude

Graduate students are listed below

Master of Arts

  • Amy Nicole Coates-Brush
  • Blake Scott Davis
  • Melissa Jeanne Handy
  • Andrea Janelle Weiss

Master of Science

  • John Staten Best
  • Daniel Scott Burges
  • Joshua David Lyons
  • Christopher Alexander MacGregor
  • Mallory Ann Ostermeyer
  • Jake Willis Welch


  • Diedre Moore Warren (Dissertation Title: "The Social Construction of the Katrina Evacuee: Formal and Informal Responses in Houston, Texas, Post-Hurricane Katrina")
  • Kristen Lynette Welch (Dissertation Title: "Do Angels Fall? An Analysis of Late Onset Offending and Substance Use in Adults Based on Findings from the National Youth Survey Family Study")

Member of The Texas State University System