College Awards Scholarships and Honors

Honors Convocation fills the Killinger Auditorium

The College of Criminal Justice presented more than $100,000 in scholarships to 91 students and recognized 123 outstanding scholars at this year’s Honors Convocation.

"This event provides an opportunity for us, the faculty, to recognize the highest standards of academic achievement and to celebrate together the accomplishments of our very best students,” said Dr. Vincent Webb, Dean of the College of Criminal Justice.

Students, parents, friends, and family packed the Killinger Auditorium for the April 28 event to recognize the best and the brightest in the College of Criminal Justice. The evening included honored guests from agencies and families bestowing the scholarships.

Among the scholarships offered were:

  • Alpha Phi Sigma Scholarship
  • American Society for Industrial Security (ASIS)
  • Brandon Ashley Memorial Scholarship
  • Dan Richard Beto Scholarship in Correctional Leadership
  • Deborah Bliese Memorial Scholarship
  • James C. Boswell Memorial Scholarship
  • Tom Broussard, Ph.D. Memorial Scholarship
  • Susan L. Canfield Memorial Endowed Scholarship
  • Sarah Janine Cleary and Michael Griffin Cleary Scholarship
  • Correctional Management Institute of Texas Scholarship
  • Stacy Countz Memorial Scholarship
  • Rolando, Josefa and Jocelyn del Carmen Endowed Scholarship
  • Rolando V. del Carmen Criminal Justice Scholarship
  • Justin DeSpain Memorial Scholarship
  • Shane Detwiler Criminal Justice Scholarship
  • Clay Dyer Memorial Scholarship
  • Michelle Annette Edwards Memorial Scholarship
  • O.B. Ellis and J. Phillip Gibbs Memorial Scholarship
  • Todd Gibbs Memorial Scholarship
  • R.W. Gordy Memorial Scholarship
  • Jared Grant Memorial Scholarship
  • Kelly Harris Memorial Scholarship
  • Lt. Colon E. “Tate” Jordan, Sr. Memorial Scholarship
  • Lambda Alpha Epsilon Scholarship
  • LTC Michael A. Lytle Prize in Forensic Science
  • Merlyn D. Moore Criminal Justice Scholarship
  • Steve Moore Memorial Scholarship
  • National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution Scholarship
  • Edward Glenn Owens Scholarship
  • Justin Perdue Memorial Scholarship
  • Chris Pickren Memorial Scholarship
  • Wayland D. Pilcher Memorial Scholarship
  • Michael Schulze Scholarship
  • Melissa Renee Sinclair Memorial Scholarship
  • Donald J. Weisenhorn Memorial Scholarship
  • Bob Worley and Lonnie Gisi Criminal Justice Scholarship
  • Marcus Zaruba Memorial Scholarship

The 100 Club Scholarships

  • John R. Braniff Scholarship
  • N.M. “Mack” Brown Scholarship
  • Gordon Edge Scholarship
  • Fred Gebhardt Scholarship
  • Robert T. Herrin, Sr. Scholarship
  • H. Stuart Lang, Jr. Scholarship
  • Leroy D. Melcher Scholarship
  • Charles F. Milstead Scholarship
  • Howard D. Moon Scholarship
  • David H. Morris Scholarship
  • T.C. Morrow Memorial Scholarship
  • E.A. “Bud” Olson Memorial Scholarship
  • Charlie D. Worthen, Sr. Scholarship

College of Criminal Justice Deans’ Scholarships

  • George J. Beto Memorial Scholarship
  • Charles M. Friel Scholarship
  • George G. & Grace M. Killinger Memorial Scholarship
  • Victor G. Strecher Scholarship

Honor students also were recognized for outstanding academic achievement, which includes maintaining a 3.5 grade point average while carrying at least 12 credit hours in the fall and spring semesters. In addition, the program recognized winners of the Third Annual Criminal Justice Undergraduate Conference, which included research poster and paper contests as well as a crime scene team competition.

Dr. Jeffery T. Walker, an alumnus and professor at the University of Arkansas, was the keynote speaker. He urged students to pursue their passion, plan for their future and select a mentor to guide them.

"There is an old military maxim that says 'If you have nothing to live for, you have nothing to die for,'" said Walker. "I think you have to have something to look forward to every day, something to get you out of bed."

Member of The Texas State University System