Beto Chair Lecture: Drs. James Unnever and Shaun L. Gabbidon

Beto Chair Lecture Series

Fri Nov 4, 2011
9:30 - 11:00 A.M.
CJ Courtroom
Criminal Justice Center

Dr. James D. Unnever, Professor in the Department of Criminology at the University of South Florida, Sarasota-Manatee, and Dr. Shaun L. Gabbidon, Distinguished Professor of Criminal Justice at Penn State University, Harrisburg, will present "A Theory of African American Offending."

Dr. Unnever's research generally examines the relationships among race, racism, and crime. His latest research focuses on whether racial and ethnic intolerance predicts punitive attitudes cross-nationally, factors related to whether the public wants to "get tough" on corporate crime, and the relationship between perceived racial discrimination and delinquency.

His most recent publications investigate the racial divide in support for capital punishment, progressive religious beliefs and support for the death penalty, the relationship between religious affiliation and punitiveness, Colvin’s differential theory, the relationships among ADHD, low self-control, and bullying and criminal behavior.

Dr. Gabbidon has served as a fellow at Harvard University’s W. E. B. Du Bois Institute for Afro-American Research, and has taught at the Center for Africana Studies at the University of Pennsylvania. The author of more than 100 scholarly publications including more than 50 peer-reviewed articles and 11 books, his most recent books include Race, Ethnicity, Crime and Justice: An International Dilemma (2009; SAGE), Criminological Perspectives on Race and Crime (2nd edition) (2010; Routledge), and the co-authored book, A Theory of African American Offending (2011; Routledge).

Professor Gabbidon currently serves as the editor of the new SAGE journal, Race and Justice: An International Journal. The recipient of numerous awards, Dr. Gabbidon was most recently awarded the 2009 W.E.B. Du Bois Award from the Western Society of Criminology and the 2011 Outstanding Mentor Award from the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences.

Member of The Texas State University System