College of Criminal Justice Graduates 170

PH.D. graduates include Brenda Rowe, Ling Wu, Abdullah Cihan, Michael Cavanaugh, Joongyeup Lee, and Youngoh Jo.
PH.D. graduates include (l to r) Brenda Rowe, Ling Wu, Abdullah Cihan, Michael Cavanaugh, Joongyeup Lee, and Youngoh Jo.

The College of Criminal Justice graduated more than 170 during a Commencement Ceremony on Aug. 4, including approximately 111 undergraduate and 60 graduate students.

The College conferred five new Ph.D. degrees to Abdullah Cihan, Youngoh Jo, Joongyeup Lee, Brenda Rowe and Ling Wu. It also awarded 53 Master’s degrees, including five M.A. in Criminal Justice; six M.S. in Security Studies, and 42 M.S. in Criminal Justice Leadership and Management, which were deliver to professionals in the field through online and weekend programs.

Graduation ceremonies were held in the Johnson Coliseum.
Graduation ceremonies were held in the Johnson Coliseum.
Dr. Cihan did his dissertation on “The Effects of Community Characteristics on Police Response Time to Crime: A Multilevel Analysis.” His committee chair was Dr. Larry T. Hoover and included members Drs. William King, William Wells, and Yan Zhang. Dr. Cihan will be an Assistant Professor at East Carolina State University in Greenville, North Carolina.

Dr. Jo’s dissertation was “The Development of Self-Control: Source and Stability of Self-Control.” His committee consisted of Chairman Dr. Todd Armstrong and members Drs. Leana Bouffard and Zhang. He is an Assistant Professor at the State University of New York (SUNY) in Brockport.

Dr. Lee’s dissertation was on “Examining Labeling Theory of Deviance: Integrative Modeling for Appropriate Validation.” His committee was chaired by Dr. Scott Menard and members included Drs. Leana Bouffard and Jurg Gerber. He is employed by the School of Public Affairs at Pennsylvania State University in Harrisburg and Middletown.

Finally, Dr. Wu’s dissertation was on “Space-Time Interaction between Repeat/Near-Repeat Shootings and Police Firearm Arrests in Houston, Texas.” Her committee was chaired by Dr. Wells with members Drs. Hoover and Zhang. She is an assistant professor in the College of Criminal Justice at Zhongnan University of Economics.

Attorney Ray Burgess delivered the keynote address.
Attorney Ray Burgess delivered the keynote address.
The featured speaker for the morning event was Ray A. Burgess, a Conroe attorney and outstanding baseball player for SHSU. Burgess, who graduated in 1975, was a four-year baseball letterman, co-captain and relief pitcher on teams that were among the national’s best in the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for three years. His pitching accomplishments are still recognized in five categories of SHSU baseball records.

Burgess earned a Bachelor’s of Business Administration from SHSU in 1975 and a law degree from the University of Houston in 1978. He is currently with the Conroe law firm of Hope and Causey, where he has a successful civil litigation and mediation practice. Outside of his practice, Burgess frequently donates his time to a variety of local charitable, civic, and philanthropic organizations in Montgomery, Harris and Walker Counties; his volunteer efforts as an auctioneer has helped organizations raise millions of dollars.

Burgess was inducted into the SHSU Lettermen Association’s Bearkat Hall of Honor in 1999, was awarded the SHSU Alumni Association’s Service Award in 2003, and currently serves on the SHSU Alumni Association Board of Directors.

Member of The Texas State University System