Celebrating 50 Years of Service: 50th Anniversary Events

This year, the College of Criminal Justice at Sam Houston State University celebrates 50 years of service. As one of the oldest and largest criminal justice programs in the country, the College sets the stage for education, research and practice in such diverse fields as law enforcement, corrections, victim services, forensics and security. It offers the longest running Ph.D. program in the discipline, producing nearly 300 scholars around the globe, and continues to educate and train leaders in the field through its academic programs and affiliated professional institutes. The College has been at the forefront of change in criminal justice throughout its history by researching best practices, training professionals in the field, and educating undergraduate and graduate students.

Here is a list of event planned to celebrate the milestone!

Thursday, April 23, 2015

Leadership Luncheon
11 a.m.
Flag Room - by invitation
Recognizing student leaders and student organizations

Sundial Ceremony
1:30 p.m.
Flagpole - all invited
Honoring criminal justice alumni who lost their lives in the line of duty

Honors Convocation
7:00 p.m.
Hazel B. Kerper Courtroom - all invited
Scholarship awards will be presented to academically gifted criminal justice students

Friday, April 24, 2015

Building a Criminal Justice Knowledge Base
Seminars and Presentations
9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
George G. Killinger Auditorium - all invited
Panel discussions featuring past Beto Chair speakers and current faculty

50th Anniversary Gala
6:00 p.m. Cocktail Hour
George J. Beto Criminal Justice Center Lobby - all invited
7:00 p.m. Dinner
Lowman Student Center Ballroom - all invited with ticket (Reserve Online)
A formal event highlighting five decades of success

Saturday, April 25, 2014

Scholarship Golf Tournament
7:30 a.m. Registration
9:00 a.m. Shotgun Start
Raven Nest Golf Club - all invited, registration required (Register Online)

CJ Barbecue
11:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Raven Nest Golf Club - all invited

Member of The Texas State University System