CMIT’s Hurst Handed Keys of Excellence


Division Director Sharese Hurst was awarded the Keys of Excellence from SHSU for her work with Orange Keys.

Sharese Hurst, a division director for the Correctional Management Institute of Texas (CMIT), was presented the Keys of Excellence for her positive impact on the lives of Orange Keys ambassadors at Sam Houston State University.

“I have had the joy of working with many students and watched them grow into professional, successful adults,” said Hurst. “I am humbled and grateful for this award.”

The Keys of Excellence awards recognize faculty and staff at SHSU who have assisted the official student ambassadors for the university. Hurst was nominated for the award by Bailey-Anne Kaytar, a current Orange Key and graduate assistant for CMIT.

“She goes out of her way to make sure that everyone, including the other students in our department, are listened to and valued,” said Kaytar. “Sharese is the first to notice when someone goes the extra mile and she always expresses her gratitude to them. She has shown me how to be a true leader and encouraged those around me. She has this way of making everyone feel included and part of the family, which is so warm and homey. This again is not a part of her job description but just a part of whom she is as a person.”

Hurst, an SHSU alumna, has worked for CMIT for 17 years. She has served as the coordinator of the Texas Drug Offender Education Program, managed three professional associations, and currently hosts several conferences annually. Sharese is the Executive Director of the Texas Jail Association, a statewide group with more than 1,400 members, and has received the organization’s President and Service Awards. She was also recognized by the Travis County Sheriff’s Office for supporting and recognizing women in the field of criminal justice.

While at Sam Houston State University, Sharese has served as a mentor through the Dean of Students’ Faculty-Staff/Student Mentor program. She regularly assists student workers assigned to CMIT, which has led to her receiving the Keys of Excellence Award.

Member of The Texas State University System