New Lecture Series Launched on Innovating Police at LEMIT

The Law Enforcement Management Institute of Texas (LEMIT) launched a new Distinguished Lecture Series in honor of longtime supporter Dr. Larry T. Hoover, which will present innovative and practical ideas to law enforcement agencies on policing in the 21st Century.

College of Criminal Justice Time Capsule Documents Center's History

by Dr. Charles Friel, Distinguished Professor Emeritus

In 1990, at the 25th Anniversary of the founding of Sam Houston State University’s College of Criminal Justice, a time capsule was constructed to preserve the accomplishments and status of the program for future generations.
The capsule is intended to be opened and its contents reviewed at 25 year intervals, at which time materials from the immediately prior 25 year period should be added. Placed in the Time Capsule for the 1965-1990 period was a photograph album of “A Day in the Life of the Criminal Justice Center,” letters from faculty, and memorabilia of the first 25 year period.

Celebrating 50 Years of Service: 50th Anniversary Events

This year, the College of Criminal Justice at Sam Houston State University celebrates 50 years of service. As one of the oldest and largest criminal justice programs in the country, the College sets the stage for education, research and practice in such diverse fields as law enforcement, corrections, victim services, forensics and security. It offers the longest running Ph.D. program in the discipline, producing nearly 300 scholars around the globe, and continues to educate and train leaders in the field through its academic programs and affiliated professional institutes. The College has been at the forefront of change in criminal justice throughout its history by researching best practices, training professionals in the field, and educating undergraduate and graduate students.

50th Anniversary Beto Chair Lecture and Symposia

50th Anniversary Beto Chair Lecture and Symposia
Fri, Apr 24, 2015
9:00 to 5 p.m.
Hazel B. Kerper Courtroom

To celebrate the 50th Anniversary of the College of Criminal Justice and its prestigious Beto Chair Lecture Series, the College will offer a day of symposia featuring Dr. Michael G. Maxfield, professor at John Jay College of Criminal, along with panels of world-renown faculty form the College to discuss the past, present and future of research in the field of criminal justice.

Celebrating 50 Years of Service: Expanding Opportunities in Forensic Science

In 2001, the College of Criminal Justice launched the inaugural master’s degree for forensic science in Texas, and it is making history again by offering the first multi-disciplinary Ph.D. in the field in the country.

Celebrating 50 Years of Services: Keeping Texas Roads Safe from Impaired Drivers

For the last 10 years, a program at the College of Criminal Justice has been keeping the roads safer in Texas by training professionals to recognize the signs of impaired driving.

50th Anniversary Honors Day

As part of the 50th Anniversary celebration, the College of Criminal Justice will continue its traditions of honoring outstanding students, alumni and supporters, as well as those who have lost their lives in the line of duty.

Child Abuse Awareness Month Event at The Woodlands Center

Tue Apr 14, 2015
11:00am - 11:30am
Back Lawn at The Woodlands Center

In recognition of Child Abuse Awareness Month, the Victim Studies Program has planned an event at The Woodlands Center featuring a butterfly release and speakers in the field of child abuse and neglect.

Real Talk w/CJ: Alfred Bryant, Child Protective Services

Wed Apr 8, 2015
2:00pm - 3:00pm
Hazel B. Kerper Courtroom
Alfred Bryant has spent his career helping children who are victims of abuse and neglect as well as their families.

Sexual Assault Awareness Month Events

The Sexual Assault Awareness Committee at Sam Houston State University is hosting a series of event in recognition of Sexual Assault Awareness Month. This year's national theme, It's On Us, is designed to recognize that non-consensual sex is sexual assault, to identify situations in which sexual assault may occur, to intervene in situations where consent has not or cannot be given and to create an environment in which sexual assault is unacceptable and survivors are supported.
Member of The Texas State University System